Resisting time pressure and silences

November 15, 2006

Upssss…I’m having difficulties creating situations in which I had to resist time pressure and silences. During the day I just forget it or don’t find the appropriate settings.

Today I’ll try to encourage this by changing my clock to the opposite wrist whenever I become aware I should do the exercise. The unpleasantful feeling of having my clock in the wrong wrist is likely to encourage my lazy-self on creating the situation.

6 Responses to “Resisting time pressure and silences”

  1. Tom Says:

    I also have difficulties with remembering to talk slowly and ryhtmically. I usually forget the whole thing, because the flow of the conversations absorb me and it occurs me only afterwards I should have payed more attention.

    If you come up with a reliable method to remember yourself constantly to pay attention to your speech throuhgout the day then please let us know.

    I know what I should do only I forget to actually do it.

  2. Chris Says:

    I think the first step is to become REALLY aware of what you SHOULD have been doing.
    I know when the “flow of conversation absorbs you” you forget about your speech-technique.
    Become aware of your failures and brand it in your mind every time you forget it.
    Try to link “speech situation” and “use speech technique” like “swimming” and “holding breath”.

    It needs a lot of training and failures but – in my case – it’s getting better every week.

    Pls read my first comment.😉

  3. Felix Says:

    Hi,

    Yes, the pressure of time. This topic is one I’m very intereresting, but it’s dificult to find what cause the pressure time.

    The listener? Maybe. Some times I talk with the movil telephone, the battery is down/emtpy and I am feeling the same pressure time…then…the listener???

    the sensations someone are hearing me?? it’s possible, have we this sensations when we talk with the dogs, babys or birds??

    For other side, what tools I do? I believe I do sames but, I have to make a list…but I believe one of them very useful, for me, it’s record on .mp3 and after, in the home, pratice the speech fast and slow with this situations.

    I explain better here:
    http://hobbytartamudez.blogspot.com/2005/09/mp3-real-desensibilizacinparte-iii.html

    Other links about this topic…
    http://hobbytartamudez.blogspot.com/2005/12/crono-habla.html

    Regards from Spain….

    Where do you came from??

  4. Anonymous Says:

    Hi,

    I have linked your blog to mine, The Stuttering Brain.

    Best wishes,
    Tom


  5. Hi Tom,

    Thanks for adding a link to your website and, specially, for your research on stuttering.

    Best regards,


  6. Hi Felix,

    Thanks for your valuable links. I regularly check your site to see how’re you doing.
    I’m Spanish too🙂

    Best regards,


Leave a Reply

