Starting behaviours (I)

October 9, 2008

I have spent a couple of days trying to identify starting behaviours. It seems as if my “record tape” stops before I start talking…I can’t remember what happened. However, I have managed to perceive this effect….

I have built during time a diverse repository of expressions, starters and jokes I can use to get into the conversation. I see that I tend to use this sort of expressions as starters. I perceive these as easy and fast to execute. However, I notice that there is a high potential of blocking when linking the end of this expressions with what I really want to say. Speed changes dramatically and I have to think what I’m saying…not as the case of “easy starters”.

Consequently, these starters may be hindering my communication instead of helping me. Perhaps I should think in advance what to say and do not rush in the conversation without being prepared.

5 Responses to “Starting behaviours (I)”


  1. (i’m from Venezuela, excuse my english :P)

    There are many people that ensures that thinking of what you are about to say, building the exact sentence in your head it’s very useful technique for achieving fluency.
    I have tried this technique many times, and indeed it’s useful but refining the technique requires to be aware of few things at the moment of speaking:

    1) For us, stutterers, it’s often hard to understand the world as a less hostile place. That’s why we rushed at start of sentences, and hesitate in finishing our ideas in the most harmless way (this applies even if you are aware of this in a conscious or unconscious way)

    2) It’s common to think that if we think too much in what are we going to say then people are going too get bored of you and see you as an stupid.

    Actually the world moves in slow motion if you compare it with kind of view a stutterer has of it. Haven’t you recorded yourself? Have you noted that probably you speak a lot faster than rest of people, or a least start sentences four or five times faster (the first words)?. So imagine if you used all of that time, wasted in rushing in sentences, thinking of what you are going to see…
    It’s seems magical in paper, but wait a little second it won’t be that easy in practice, there’s a collateral effect to consider.

    One of the most influent conditions in stuttering is looking forward for feared words that will be pronounce in the near future of your speech. This is an analysis you do unconsciously but all the time. Imagine then how would be to think consciously in the words you’re about to say: Probably you will struggle a lot more. But this will be only in the beginning, you have to make an great effort in understanding that the way of communicate better it’s to think of what we want to say, and express it the coolest and clearest it’s possible…

  2. Manpreet Says:

    Hi there,

    This is Manpreet.I have visited your site many times.Your content is very nice and to the point.
    I am promoting your site through my blog.And was wandreing if you could also promote my site by exchanging links.

    My URl is :-
    http://www.manpreetstammers.blogspot.com/

    Thanks

  3. connor Says:

    i like your losts i read eight so far.Stuttering is something the world should know more about.Ive been stuttering since i was 4 and its hard you know but ive found other stuttering people. check out
    http://www.stuttterblog.com/ if you stutter


  4. La tartamudez se cura, la tontería de psiquiatras y psicólogos, no. Pásate por mi blog y verás una entrada sobre tartamudos. Y no deis tanta importancia a una conducta(la tartamudez), derivada de una enfermedad, de una patología cerebral, cuya solución está cercana. Para empezar, paseo por mi blog, vid
    http://santiagonzalezescritor.blogspot.com.es/2012/04/contra-la-tartamudez.html
    y luego atentos al día de la tartamudez, desvelaré algunos datos básicos. Estoy pendiente de que Adolfo García, de TTM, me invite a los actos del 22-10-2013. Si no recibo su invitación, los publicaré por libre. Con alegría.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

